Cantab Feature for Wednesday, April 24, 2019: Team Selection Semi-Finals

The Cantab’s Team Selection Slams are the venue’s biggest, wildest poetry slams of the year. This National Poetry Month, we continue our selection process with the second round of three, the Team Selection Semi-Finals. With prelims behind them and two more nights to go, competing poets are likely to be reaching deep into their pockets on this particular night, or even trying out untested work in hope of saving some major ammunition for the upcoming Finals… Making Semi-Finals just possibly the most interesting night of the selection series.

Competing poets from this night are drawn from the April 3 Team Selection Preliminaries, and the April 10 Last Chance Slam. Poets will each perform two poems, with a TOTAL time limit of (get this) 7 minutes, and will appear in this order in the first round:
1. Dahlia Hill
2. Yehya
3. Mugs Myers
4. Zeke Russell
5. Lip Manegio
6. Max Evans
7. Kieran Collier
8. Myles Taylor
9. George Abraham
10. Arianna Monet
11. Meaghan Ford
12. Joshua Elbaum
13. Terah Ehigiator

The top eight poets at the end of the night will advance to our May Finals show; after that, the top four poets will comprise the venue’s 2019 National Poetry Slam Team.

This show in our weekly Wednesday series takes place at the Cantab Lounge, 738 Massachusetts Ave. in Cambridge. Doors for the show open at 7:15. A SHORTENED open mic begins at 8:00 and the slam begins at approximately 9:15. The show is 18+ (ID required) and the cover charge is $5.