Cantab Feature for Wednesday, June 6, 2018: World Qualifier Finals

The Boston Poetry Slam will preview our summer of slam with the second and final night of the annual World Qualifier to select the Boston Poetry Slam’s sole representative to the 2018 Individual World Poetry Slam! This year’s IWPS will take place in San Diego, Calif. from October 10-13, and our World Qualifier slam winner will be entered into the event.

Tonight’s winner-take-all competition will feature the top eight finishers from the May 16 World Qualifier Speed Slam. The four-round night, including one limit-breaking 4-minute round, will culminate in a head-to-head finals to determine who will represent the BPS in the not Bay Area this fall.

Our final roster is confirmed, and the order of the first round will be:
1. RebeccaLynn
2. Cassandra de Alba
3. José Zepeda
4. Neiel Israel
5. Sam Zilli
6. JR Mahung
7. Lip McDonald
8. Myles Taylor
sacrifices: Zeke Russell, Meaghan Ford

For more details about how the slam works, you can check out the full rules and format for the World Qualifier Series.

This show in our weekly Wednesday series takes place at the Cantab Lounge, 738 Massachusetts Ave. in Cambridge. Doors for the show open at 7:15. An slightly shortened open mic begins at 8:00 and the slam begins at approximately 10:00. The show is 18+ (ID required) and the cover charge is $5; proceeds will go toward funding the World Qualifier winner’s trip to IWPS this October.