Cantab Feature for Wednesday, January 31, 2018: Team Selection Preliminaries (Second Heat)

New year, new slam team time! The Cantab’s Team Selection Slams have always been the venue’s biggest, wildest poetry slams of the season. Up to TWENTY-ONE POETS will slam in these preliminary heats, which will be presented as a one-two punch over two Wednesdays this January.

The following ten poets have been placed in this second heat (random draw for order):

  • Anna Binkovitz
  • Colin Killick
  • John Pinkham
  • José Zepeda
  • Lyra de Castro
  • Myles Taylor
  • Neiel Israel
  • RebeccaLynn
  • Sara Mae
  • Last Chance Slam Winner (TBD 1/17): Lindsey Michelle
  • sacrifices: two poets TBD

This event is the second prelim slam of two! The rest of the field will already have competed at the January 24 heat, and the top six poets from each will advance to the February 21 Semi-Finals, with sights set on the March 21 Finals. The top five poets at the end of the series will comprise the 2018 Boston Poetry Slam Team, who will travel to the National Poetry Slam in Chicago, Illinois this August.

This show in our weekly Wednesday series takes place at the Cantab Lounge, 738 Massachusetts Ave. in Cambridge. Doors for the show open at 7:15. A SHORTENED open mic begins at 8:00 and the slam begins at approximately 9:30. The show is 18+ (ID required) and the cover charge is $5; proceeds will go toward funding the team’s trip to the National Poetry Slam.