Cantab Feature for Wednesday, March 26, 2014: Team Selection Finals

The Cantab’s Team Selection Slams are the venue’s biggest, wildest poetry slams of the year. The venue’s March selection is one of the earliest in the country, which gives them extra time to prepare for this year’s National Poetry Slam in Oakland.

Finalists after the February 19 Semi-Finals will slam in the following order in the first round (and draw randomly for second and third round order):

1. Michael Monroe
2. Melissa Newman-Evans
3. Mckendy Fils-Aimé
4. Omoizele Okoawo
5. Marshall Gillson
6. Sean Patrick Mulroy
7. Meaghan Ford
8. Janae Johnson
9. Bobby Crawford
invited to sacrifice: Sierra Lister, Princess Chan

The top five poets at the end of the evening will comprise the 2014 Boston Poetry Slam Team.

After four previous rounds in the last two months, plus with a new poem requirement each of the poets must have fulfilled, you can expect hot competition, tense strategic moves, and the mostly finely-polished performance work of the slam season.

This show in our weekly Wednesday series takes place at the Cantab Lounge, 738 Massachusetts Ave. in Cambridge. Doors for the show open at 7:15. A SHORTENED open mic begins at 8:00 and the slam begins at approximately 9:00. The show is 18+ (ID required) and the cover charge is $5; proceeds will go toward funding the team’s trip to the National Poetry Slam in Oakland this August.

1 ping

  1. […] 26: Boston Poetry Slam Team Selection Finals. I’ll be competing for a spot on the 2014 Boston Poetry Slam […]

Comments have been disabled.