Feature for April 25, 2012: Team Selection Finals

Boston Poetry Slam

It’s the last night of the Team Selection Slams, and it’s sure to be the most exciting; the top nine poets from Semi-Finals will slam off in three wicked rounds to see who will represent the Boston Poetry Slam at this year’s national competition! Appearing in this order in the first round:

1. Ed Wilkinson
2. Sophia Holtz
3. Simone Beaubien
4. Mckendy Fils-Aimé
5. Antonia Lassar
6. Omoizele Okoawo
7. Melissa Newman-Evans
8. Kemi Alabi
9. Maya Philips
Sacrifice poets: Meaghan Ford and TBA

The five highest scorers at the end of the night will travel to the National Poetry Slam in Charlotte, North Carolina, this August, to compete against more than seventy other teams from the U.S. and Canada.

Doors for the show open at 7:15. A shortened open mic begins at 8:00 and the slam begins at approximately 9:30. An open poetry slam in the 8×8 series will follow. The show is 18+ (ID required) and the cover charge is $5; proceeds will go toward sending the team to the National Poetry Slam this August.