Cantab Feature for Wednesday, February 4, 2015: Team Selection Preliminaries (Second Heat)

The Cantab’s Team Selection Slams have always been the venue’s biggest, wildest poetry slams of the season. For 2015, for the first time, the venue will split the rowdy preliminary slam into two separate sessions, with the February event being the second prelim pool of two. The following poets will compete tonight (order TBD):

  • Colin Killick
  • Jake Villarreal
  • Zeke Russell
  • John Mortara
  • Emily Eastman
  • Mike Leon
  • Nora Meiners
  • Sean Patrick Mulroy
  • Ed Wilkinson
  • Sacrifices: Omoizele Okoawo, Zanne Langlois

The top six poets after two rounds will meet the top poets from the first heat at the Semi-Finals on Wednesday, February 18.

Team Selection Slams are a three-session affair for Cantab poets, with the top five poets after seven rounds comprising the venue’s National Poetry Slam Team. The 2015 Boston Poetry Slam Team will travel to the National Poetry Slam, once again across the mainland in sunny Oakland, California.

This show in our weekly Wednesday series takes place at the Cantab Lounge, 738 Massachusetts Ave. in Cambridge. Doors for the show open at 7:15. A SHORTENED open mic begins at 8:00 and the slam begins at approximately 9:30. The show is 18+ (ID required) and the cover charge is $5; proceeds will go toward funding the National Poetry Slam in August.