Cantab Feature for Wednesday, February 6: Team Selection Semi-Finals

The Cantab’s Team Selection Slams are the venue’s biggest, wildest poetry slams of the year. This February, we continue our selection process with the second night of three, the Team Selection Semi-Finals!

The top twelve poets from the January 9 Preliminaries advance to this February show, with all competitors hoping to place high enough to continue to Finals on March 13. Competing poets will appear in the following order in the first round:

  1. Omoizele Okoawo
  2. Jade Sylvan
  3. Sam Teitel
  4. Zanne Langlois
  5. Nora Meiners
  6. Mckendy Fils-Aimé
  7. Meaghan Ford
  8. Kayla Wheeler
  9. Melissa Newman-Evans
  10. Danger Ranger
  11. Sean Patrick Mulroy
  12. Adam Stone
  13. Ed Wilkinson

Due to a tie in the preliminary slam, thirteen poets will compete in this show.
Sacrifice poets: 1. Michael Monroe, 2. Brenna Kleiman

With two rounds under their belts and three to go, competing poets are likely to be reaching deep into their pockets on this particular night, or even trying out untested work in hope of saving some major ammunition for the next round… Making Semi-Finals just possibly the most interesting night of the selection series.

This show in our weekly Wednesday series takes place at the Cantab Lounge, 738 Massachusetts Ave. in Cambridge. Doors for the show open at 7:15. A SHORTENED open mic begins at 8:00 and the slam begins at approximately 9:15. The show is 18+ (ID required) and the cover charge is $5; proceeds will go toward funding the National Poetry Slam this August in Boston.