Cantab Recap for Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Announcing the 2015 Boston Poetry Slam Team! After three nail-biting rounds at last night’s Finals, including more than one upset and some terrifyingly tight scoring, the final standings are as follows:

1. Mckendy Fils-Aimé 84.8
2. Marshall Gillson 84.6
3. Bobby Crawford 84.4
4. Sophia Holtz 84.1
5. Sean Patrick Mulroy 83.7

6. (tie) Zeke Russell
6. (tie) Meaghan Ford
8. Nora Meiners
9. Ed Wilkinson

Poets in bold will represent the Boston Poetry Slam at the Cantab Lounge in national competition this August in Oakland, California. (The team will also be available for local bookings in the meantime: contact the SlamMaster for more information.) Congratulations to everyone!

As always, heartfelt gratitude is due to our bar staff, doormen, and hard-working audience, who all made our team finals a night to remember. Special thanks to all-star bout manager Tom Slavin and our five highly consistent judges: Rubens, Pat and Rich, Paul, Emily, and Rebecca Lynn.

Next week: National Poetry Month rolls on with Seattle legend Karen Finneyfrock. We’ll also open up the slam to everyone: it’ll be the fifth slam in our spring speed slam series, which means 3-, 2-, and 1-minute rounds.