Meet the 2012 Boston Poetry Slam Team

Congratulations to the 2012 Boston Poetry Slam Team: Kemi Alabi, Antonia Lassar, Omoizele Okoawo, Mckendy Fils-Aimé, and Melissa Newman-Evans!

The team was finalized on Wednesday, April 25, after a three-night, seven poem series, and they’ll represent the Boston Poetry Slam at the 2012 National Poetry Slam in Charlotte, North Carolina from August 7-11.

The full details about what happened at team selection are forthcoming in our weekly recap… In the meantime, aren’t you wondering what the National Poetry Slam is all about? You can check out this year’s website at, where there are already tickets available to see our team and more than 70 others compete at the week-long event!